St. Catherine's in Action Saturday

  • Apr 04,2019

Saturday 6th April 2019


Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘A’ Championship 2019 – Final – Result on the Day

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Claregalway (Galway) v St Catherine’s College (Armagh) 

1.30pm, Mohill GAA, Leitrim, (K Corcoran, Mayo)

COLÁISTE Bhaile Chláir have a second chance to claim a 2019 Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools title on Saturday. The Claregalway outfit lost out to St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon, in the Senior B Final last Friday but the Junior A decider presents another opportunity to claim silverware. Coláiste Bhaile Chláir will line out with three of the players who started in the Senior B Final – goalkeeper Alanah Griffin, Megan Flaherty, who will captain the Junior A side, and Kiara Kearney.

In addition, Chellene Trill, Brenda Naughton and Laura Scanlon were all brought off the bench in the Senior B decider, and start on this occasion. CBC swept all before them in Connacht before enjoying an impressive All-Ireland semi-final victory over Scoil Chríost Rí Portlaoise, who were crowned Senior A champions last Saturday. But CBC will face stiff opposition from St Catherine’s, who came through a tough route in Ulster to reach the last four of the All-Ireland series.

In the recent All-Ireland semi-final, St Catherine’s came good in the second half to see off the challenge of Loreto, Clonmel. Victory for St Catherine’s would keep the Junior A title in Ulster, following victory for Loreto, Cavan, last year.

CBC, meanwhile, are looking to become the first Connacht outfit since Glenamaddy from Galway in 2013 to land this crown.


Coláiste Bhaile Chláir: A Griffin; L Tunney, M Flaherty (capt.), A O’Flynn; S Lawless, C Trill, M McGarry; K Kearney, B Naughton; C Hegarty, L Scanlon, É Brennan; S Cogley, H Walsh, É O’Riordan.


St Catherine’s College: C Kelly; A Mallon, A Boyle, M Hughes; C Campbell, E Druse, C McCormick; C Creaney, M Ferguson; E Reid, C Mullan, L McAlary (capt.); E Conroy, H Duffy, E Lambe.